Understanding laps, intervals and mean maximal power data

I imagine many of you have noticed that we don’t offer a lot of laps or interval-based features. Nor do we do historical power curves (i.e. your power curve based on best “MMP” or “mean maximal power” efforts in the past). Laps/intervals/MMP are useful when you’re looking to make sense of progress when you don’t have MPA. With MPA, you get the explanation, i.e. the story, of what happened in your ride. Reviewing data without MPA doesn’t provide this picture. Here’s an example:

Firstly, I’ve never done this analysis before since I don’t see the point but for those that come from this sort of thing, here’s how you might see what’s really going on.

There are 6 laps in this ride. It was today’s ride for me. You can view each lap by mousing over the Strava segment in this case. If you have laps, you could mouse over / click them. I superimposed all the segment markers and annotated each of them to demonstrate (not something you’ll see on the system, in other words).

Notice how each lap has different average power. We don’t show XSS on the side panel. I’d like to add XSS and now also low, high, peak XSS in support of the XFAI… but this page is getting an overhaul so we’ll have to make due with what we have atm. XSS for each lap was 10, 14, 14, 16, 14, 15 respectively.

As you can see, with MPA elevated and difficulty down, it was pretty easy to get a better average power on lap 2. Lap 3 had just as much XSS but since MPA was down, it took 40W less. Lap 4 had the most XSS but power was no different than 1 and 6.