Body Recomp + maintain power

Looking for some outside thoughts. I’ve been working with a coach since late 2022 on training peaks. I’m more of an enduro rider who lifted a ton a wanted to be in better shape as I move towards more alpine and adventure riding as I get closer to 40. I’ve made excellent gains in power outputs and am a way better rider fitness wise. I just did a 50 mile MTB race and didn’t do as well as I hoped. I’m not winning any races ever but competing against myself.
I’m moving on from training peaks and want to do my own training (I miss riding for fun) I think my biggest need is body recomposition. I’ve got good power outputs threshold /FTP is 262, 90 minute power is 220 watts. But i’m 225 lbs and mid 20% body fat, which means my watts / kg is terrible and I feel it on climbs. Since starting training, my weight and body fat according to my scales has changed minimally - goes down a bit with base training, up with SS and threshold - with some definite muscle less (especially upper body). I eat pretty well and know this subject well; I meal prep ever week but do love my pizza too. classic 80% healthy, 20% whatever I please. I used to track everything when I was doing more lifting.
combine that with what I think is an HR that is still higher than it should be for activity I’m thinking of putting myself through an 8-12 week zone 2 and hypertrophy (lifting) program late this fall. I want to lose body fat but try and keep as much of my power outputs as I can. Has anyone successfully “recomped” while maintaining as much power as they can? Looking for advice, guidance, experience.

1 Like

Evening.

The only success I’ve had was a number of years ago. Bizarrely when I was your age probably thinking the same thing.

I ate less.
My biking wasn’t power monitored so I have no evidence back then from a gadget that my power was the same but I was quicker and could last longer.
My running improved dramatically.