Xert Fitness Test for Breakthroughs - Under Pressure

Newb question. I just bought a Kickr Core, so I’m new to smart trainers. I notice in the description of this workout,“Obviously this work out is not suited for ERG mode.”

So I use slope mode? How exactly does slope mode work? Am to use gearing to hit the intervals as best as I can? I notice that some workouts automatically select between ERG mode in some sections, and Slope mode in other section. It seems that the only part that wouldn’t work in this workout in Erg mode is that last sprint.

Yes slope simulates riding up a hill (you can adjust the slope in the app) then you use gearing and cadence to hit power targets.

Some workouts are mixed mode, automatically switching between slope and ERG. Usually slope is used for the ‘all out’ efforts to failure (breakthrough) and also sprints.

You can actually leave it in ERG for that workout, but if your signature is accurate you won’t be able to even get to the sprint at the end. If you do, it is possible to sprint in ERG but you’ll want to have high cadence and probably be out of the saddle in advance… and if you can’t hit power targets the resistance will increase to offset the falling cadence which is never pleasant (usually best to stop to avoid injury). Hence slope is recommended.

Also, when you breakthrough in ERG mode your drop off in power is not ‘natural’ as it goes to zero quickly. Xert algorithms can have trouble interpreting that pattern and get the allocation between TP and HIE wrong. In my experience, ERG breakthroughs (which I don’t do anymore) overstate HIE and understate TP, but not sure if that’s a rule.