Using Xert with another training platforms

Hi guys, I am new to indoor training and I also thinking about using Xert as my training planner for the bike (I do triathlons) since I liked the approach of the product very much. Since looking at just numbers may be boring for 1h+ rides, and I was wondering if there is a cheaper alternative to Zwift so that I can just ride a route and disable it controlling the trainer (obviously I want Xert to do that). Is there any alternative?

Thanks,
Alex

1 Like

All you need is Xert. You can watch anything you want (TV, Youtube, route videos, etc.) while Xert controls your trainer (ERG mode) or you control trainer to match watt targets in Xert (resistance mode).
Before you decide whether 1h+ rides are boring in Xert, try the Xert Remote Player on your tablet/PC. There is usually enough going on to keep things interesting. If you get bored focus on form (pedal stroke, aero position, breathing, etc.).

2 Likes

I work in front of a screen all day and cycling is my escape, so if I can’t ride outdoors I’ll set up my rollers outside or I’ll have my indoor trainer facing out the garage door so that I can look outside. If I want some stimulation I’ll crank up the stereo or choose a more testing workout.

BigRingVR is cheaper than Zwift and you can add a family member for free. You can load Xert workouts into it and watch one of their real life videos of cycling events while you work out. You could also setup competitions, but that’s not frequently used, I believe…

1 Like

Also, if you want a mix of Zwift and real life videos, try Rouvy. More competitions, challenges and even prices to be won. Same prica as Zwift, but up to three users, five devices can use the same subscription.

1 Like

I envy you :slight_smile: . I am stuck in the garage at work but it’s better than nothing.

Thanks! I will give Rouvy another try, but so far I wasn’t able to disable controlling the trainer in it (I am not sure if it has this option).