Update to ANT+ on Android 10

Hey folks,

Just noticed while doing some testing on my Google Pixel 2 (running Android 10) that I’m FINALLY able to pair ANT+ sensors, using an OTG cable and ANT+ dongle. Not sure if there was a patch to Android 10, or updates to ANT+ drivers but this is exciting! I’ve been waiting a year or more for this! Can anyone else running Android 10 see if they’re also able to pair to ANT+ sensors?

Not sure why you had to wait until now, but I have been using a Pixel 2 with ANT+ for 2 years now.
I use the USB-C dongle that came with the phone and a Suunto Movestick Mini.
It was plug-n-play once I installed the ANT+ services from Google Play.

1 Like

Which is the ant+ service you installed? My Android was not working over ant but then suddenly had started working again.

I don’t know if all of these are required but what’s installed is –
ANT+ Plugins Service (ANT+)
ANT USB Service (ANT+)
ANT Radio Service (ANT+)
I also have the app called ANTtester (Quantrity)

My USB-C/ANT+ dongle/stick combo is this:
ANT%20USB-C

I tried using the standard USB-C dongle with Garmin ANT+ stick since I’ve had the phone, but it didn’t work once I updated from Android 8 to Android 9/10. I had installed the ANT+ Radio Service, ANT+ Plugins Service, ANT+ USB Service (as well as the ANTtester).

Just happened to test it out again the other day and suddenly it worked. Was curious to see if it would work for anyone else as well.

I’ve got a OnePlus 6 with Ant+ built in. It worked fine until I updated with Android9 then it stopped working. Mysteriously, after a couple of months, it started working again. I’ve been putting off updating to Android 10 as a result of my experience. I may try now.

Yes! I’m running my Pixel 2 with OTG/ANT + and it works great.