Understanding the impact of exercise on Fitness Signature

Hi, I’m new to Xert (since January 2022) and am trying to understand the impact of training and breakthroughs on my fitness signature.
I think I have an understanding of the three key measures - Peak Power, HIE and TP, and I can see the impact of my efforts and breakthroughs on those. What I don’t understand is that while my TP and HIE are increasing, my peak power shows a steady downward trend.
For info, most of my cycling (at the moment) is on Zwift using a SARIS H3 smart trainer, with probably around a quarter of my rides being Xert workouts.
Is the reduction in my PP simply due to Xert refining its estimate of PP as it learns what I’m doing, or do I need to adjust my exercise regime to improve PP as well as TP and HIE?
Thanks,
Rob

Someone will be along to correct me shortly i’m sure but I think it depends upon what you’re doing on Zwift. I believe the measures will naturalluy decay if you don’t try to make breakthroughs for each of the 3 metrics you measure ie; if you’re doing no max efforts then this will naturally go down.

There’s also a question about what you’re

Have a read of the above.

1 Like

Yes, as @Emmodd said above your signature will decay (depending on or decay setting).

The decay will make your signature metrics come down over time, while your training will influence it upwards.

With no decay your signature could only go up, and your signature would not account for losses in fitness.

Thanks for your replies guys!
While I understand that my signature metrics will naturally come down over time if I don’t exercise, what I don’t understand is why my TP and HIE are going UP yet my PP is coming DOWN. @Emmodd I will go and read the post you linked!

I had a breakthrough the day before starting this thread, in which my TP increased by 9W and my HIE increased by 3.2kJ. At the same time my PP reduced by 1W.