Training Status

What does this metric relate to?

If you’re familiar with CTL and how various levels correspond with an amount of training load that has been accumulated, Training Status looks to simplify the interpretation of Xert’s exponentially-weighted average daily work load for Strain to this concept. So rather than having to interpret or lookup what the meaning of a number between 1 and 450 would be, Training Status boils it down into 5 categories. We may decide to add your actual number as part of the tooltip that explains the stars. I think a better piece of information would be whether the number is increasing or decreasing, which is really what an athlete would be most interested in, I believe.

Yes, please! I’m trying to make the change from previously using WKO 3.0. Its been awhile, but my mind is still set with ATL, CTL, and TSB. Even being self-coached I could easily get how to read and manipulate those three for training improvements. So while I am just getting started again, I think it would be useful to have a bit more visual tracking, even historical tracking of Strain.

We are looking to provide a “next generation” PMC where we use Strain in place of the older stress score calculations. Total Strain/FTP*100 is actually a pretty good marker of training strain and based on initial testing, does appear to mostly agree with TSS. Fortunately, it doesn’t suffer from the inflation challenges associated with TSS. Let us know your thoughts on this and if anyone else is also interested, especially if they see it as a critical feature for them, do let us know.

Thanks. I wouldn’t mind knowing my Training Status number and what the values ascribed to the 5 categories are. This data could reserved for the Advanced page.