Track my training load and effect via Garmin using Xert

I haven’t seen this mentioned before but I have been using Xert for 5 months now and I’ve settled into a certain way on how i record my indoor activities. It’s a concept I’m very happy with and wonder if others do the same.

I record all my indoor virtual rides activities via IQ remote player on the Garmin head unit. I also do all my Xert workouts via IQ remote player while on Zwift. I don’t upload anything via Zwift to strava or garmin. All info is uploaded from Garmin head unit to Xert and on to Strava. What you get when you do this is all power and heart rate data and training load and effect from Garmin. Garmin is keeping track of how productive your training load is and Xert is doing the same.

How you do this is start a workout via the Garmin IQ remote player on the head unit but instead of starting workout press do workout later as if your where doing an outdoor ride. This will record your data via Zwift whether its a race or Zwift workout or group rides then save it when finished. What will happen here is the activity will be recorded as what ever the workout was meant to be, but you can edit it after in Garmin and Strava. What you don’t get is any of the gps and segment info from Zwift or speed or distance from Garmin but you’ll have this on Strava. What you do get is a recorded history of your training load and effect on Garmin and Xert. To me this is all that matters. What you can’t do is use overlay features on PC when doing this because for some reason the Garmin head unit makes it glitchy, having said that you can not get training effect in Garmin from a 3rd party app, not from Zwift, or Xert mobile app etc. Why do I do this … I like to know if my training load was productive, Garmin has an interesting way of doing this via Firstbeats I think it called, which will only work via a Garmin device.

I’m very addicted to this method and I’ve been doing it for 4 months now.