Target power is too low

I’m new to Xert. I’ve imported all my fitness data from 1/1/2022 to date from both Garmin and Strava. However, 3 recent workouts recorded using the mPaceline app will not upload to Strava without a subscription fee, so it may look like my training deficit is greater than it really is (seems to be stuck at 13). I’m a 73 year old sprint distance triathlete. Moderately fit, but imo undertrained (trying to use Xert to push me to remedy that)

So, I’ve been selecting 'recommended, workouts, and find that the targets are extremely, basically unachievably LOW. Like say 60 watts for recovery and 80 watts for effort. Changing the intensity from 100% to 120% seems to produce something that feels like a moderate effort, and I can still easily pump up my output on the last effort interval to ~180+ watts without feeling stressed. My last FTP when I was using Zwift last Winter/Spring was 170 watts (~2.3 w/kg). Though I haven’t ridden much since then, I have run regularly, and all that data has been synced.

My trainer is an InsideRide smart roller. In ERG mode, it is not unusual to exceed the target when shifting to a higher gear and/or increasing cadence, once the trainer can no further lower resistance. I suspect that this is true of most ‘smart’ trainers when run in ERG mode without a dedicated power meter.

I suppose, that if I keep following the recommended workouts, Xert will eventually dial it in to where I don’t need to increase the intensity in order to produce a desirable level of training stress. That would be good, as a major point of Xert, should be for me NOT to need to be guessing how much additional effort will be beneficial. Right?

How does your power curve look to you? Maybe try to do a breakthrough workout to get your power curve more accurate?

When was last BT (breakthrough) as shown under your name on XO (xertonline.com)?
Take a look at your XPMC chart under the Progression tab.