Resolving large discrepancy between indoor trainer and crank power measurements

Hi,

I have been using xert for a few months with an old bike on a kickr core trainer. I recently got hold of a 4iiii crank power meter for outdoor rides on another bike. There seems to be a very large discrepancy between the two power measurements. Yesterday I tried the 4iiii meter on a 2hr ride that was not very strenuous and it showed up with an XSS of 559 (plot attached).

Are there any tricks for aligning these power measurements? Do I need put my road bike on the trainer and use different apps to record both sensors at the same time, and then adjust the scaling factor available on the 4iiii meter? I can’t put the crank meter on my trainer bike so this still wouldn’t account for possibly large drive train differences between the bikes.

Thanks

That looks pretty wild. Appears you were well above threshold for nearly half an hour straight, so is your thought that the new crank power meter is way overstating?

Did you calibrate the power meter before riding?

At least in Zwift, it’s pretty easy to see what both devices are reading during the power selection screen. Both will be listed and show the current output, I’ve used that method before to compare things.

I am not sure whether the new crank power meter is reading high or the kicr core is reading low. Either way I think that I would be happy with getting relatively consistent measurements regardless of the absolute accuracy.

I did calibrate the crank meter just before the ride.