Progression vs Decay

I’ve read a bunch of the forum posts on Decay, and I get the reasons why someone might change it. So far, I’ve just left it at the default “Optimal” because well, I’m still a total noob at Xert and am learning. Anyhow, I didn’t really find a good discussion on the question I have here and haven’t experienced it myself yet so thought I’d bring it up.

Here is what my Xert progression chart looks like for the last couple weeks. It’s made up of 100% Xert recommended activities with some zwift races mixed in and a couple outdoor rides (no power but HR estimated XSS). My TP is constantly going down unless I got a Breakthrough.

My increase in TP has occurred when doing Zwift races. I think coming in to using Xert, the default Decay obviously had me quite a bit lower than real TP since these 1st several breakthroughs actually weren’t that hard to achieve. By the 4rth race, It looks like it’s starting to get more in the ballpark. I only got a near breakthrough though because that was the sprint to the finish line and perhaps I could have gone harder for a bit longer if I hadn’t stopped pushing when I finished the race. Also, these are my first zwift races for the season and I’ve been doing off season/rest since August. My last detected breakthroughs (from before I started using Xert) were back in July.

So two questions:

1. Is the fact that my estimated TP was 40 or more watts below where it seems like I actually am evidence that I should change the default decay rate?