Pez Cycling News Toolbox Articles

Hi everyone - I’m a contributing author to the content on Pez Cycling News. I submit an article roughly once a month and aim to highlight some cycling-related research. I also try to explain how you can incorporate the results of that research into your own training.

In this months article, I discussed some of the science behind micro-intervals and why they’re such a potent training stimulus. Hope you enjoy it!

If you do get a chance to spend a few minutes reading through it…Let me know what you think, or if you have any other questions!

7 Likes

Interesting read, I’ve tried to do a couple of the micro interval workouts that Xert has recommended to me recently but I’ve had to quit on the last set each time as I just couldn’t hold the power and then the Smart demands increased leaving me in a death spiral of failure and despair! I do very much prefer them to the 5 x 3 mins at 120% intervals though.

FWIW, I do my micro-intervals (20-10’s, 30-15’s, and 30-30’s) in SLOPE mode (2.0%) - I don’t rely on ERG.

There are some micro-workouts in Xert that I will use ERG/AUTO mode for, such as Smart - Let the Sparks Fly and SMART - My Way or the Highway workouts.

I don’t think literally anyone likes doing those… :face_vomiting:

1 Like

Yes I do them in slope mode, it’s my legs that go into a spiral of failure. I do all my workouts in slope as I don’t like ERG mode at all, probably all the years of riding a mag trainer and then a fluid trainer before we got a smart trainer.

I really like to do micro intervals. Only with irl started again I only seem to have yellow stars, so when to do these workouts?

Been seeing some of your hard rides & races on Strava. I’d bet that those races give a similar Focus duration to Ronnestads/Billats! Mind sharing the Focus (and specificity) for some of your races?

For example, I just did a 30 min Billat-style workout on Thursday and ended up with a PURE 4:30 focus (Puncheur Focus Type).

1 Like