Near Breakthrough - what is it?

Newbie here - only on my 6th XERT ride.

Yesterday I got a breakthrough, today, my numbers were even better and it says ‘Near Breakthrough’ in the planner. How can I ascertain how much more I need to do to get another Breakthrough

Not really sure how to find and/or create my signature.

Thanks in advance.

Welcome to the Xert community! We love seeing new faces here!

A breakthrough occurs when you’re able to generate more power than the current fitness signature predicts (i.e. you generate more power than MPA predicts). To learn more about this, check out our Podcast episode that talks about breakthroughs! How much ‘more’ you need to do for a breakthrough depends on many factors (such as, which fitness signature component are you trying to improve, when is your target event, what phase of training are you in…etc. etc.). Listen to the podcast and come back with any questions that you have afterwards!

Your signature is comprised of 3 components: Peak Power (PP), High Intensity Energy (HIE) and Threshold Power (TP, similar to other programs’ FTP). Once again, I’ll direct you to another of our podcast episodes on fitness signatures. You can find your fitness signature in the activities table (which you’ve attached to this thread already), or by changing the chart on the My Fitness homepage from ‘XPMC’ to ‘Fitness Signatures’

Hope this helps! Cheers!

1 Like

Interesting statistics there Mitch.

Peak Power 1871 which is massive but a TP of 166 which is not as massive. Presumably you are pretty light to give a w/kg > 3.

1 Like

I am 72.5kgs. The 3 month data was imported from Strava and now on 6th xert ride

@maskenas1961, do you believe your PP (1s power) is actually 1871W, or do you think that might be a data error?