Issues with gamin app

Brand new to the game, not only Xert, but also indoor training as a whole. I am amazed by the Xert concept as this is exactly what I was looking for - constantly adapting program, which takes in to account outdoor activities and allows me to organize indoor cycling training around my life, not the other way around.

However, as a newbie I am having some questions. The most confusing are:

1. The trainer mode of the Garmin app. I don’t know if I am in “Power control”, “Resistance”, “Slope” or “Off”. I go to the menu, I click, but the app simply returns me to the main screen without any feedback which is the selected mode. Is this the expected behaviour? I see that Android app can show the trainer mode, but apparently this is not available on the Garmin…

2. Regarding the sync between Garmin Connect and Xert. Is it only for Garmin workouts? My flow is Zwift -> Garmin Connect -> Xert. I expected after completing a Zwift workout for it to be immediately available in Xert…but this wasn’t the case and I had to upload it manually. So are there issues with importing zwift activities passing through garmin connect or maybe I had to wait a bit more?

3. This is more of a Garmin question than Xert, but I figure you might have the experience. How is the smart trainer recognized inside Garmin? I can find a power sensor, is that all or there is an additional component for the control part? I am a bit worried that I can add it only as power source (athlete controlled mode). On my first Xert workout I felt like having to always stay on top of the prescribed wats and like it is not the trainer that is controlling the output.

Admittedly, I am new to the whole controlable trainer concept, so if there is some simple bulletproof way to test whether the garmin controls the trainer via Xert, it will be great.

Hi,

There is guide to Garmin player here which should give you some useful info

On your questions