Information overload.

Hi, I’m wondering if anyone can help. This is as much a cycling physiology question as it is an Xert question, I got quite a big jump in my fitness signature today FTP 230 from 195, HIE 27.5 from 22, PP 972 from 976. I use a few other devices and systems which all gave me quite different FTP estimations so I’m trying to figure out what’s what.

A bit of background - I’m 30, I’m heavy (107kg, 30% body fat 5’11"), I’ve been cycling for quite a few years but have only recently started to try to train properly. Before that I played mostly team sports, did High-intensity intervals, and lifted weights. My setup is PowerTap P1 pedals, Garmin 935 to record, Previously I mostly used TrainerRoad and TrainingPeaks for my workouts and data collection, my trainer is a Tacx Bushido.

I’m currently 6 weeks into the TrainerRoad Sweet Spot base program. On Tuesday I did my second FTP test with them which gave me an FTP of 203 (previously 189), however I learned afterward that it was only reading (and doubling) the left PowerTap pedal due to a quirk of Bluetooth and their app. My L/R powe r was 52/48 so that result could be as much as 4% high (so maybe 195). I didn’t get a breakthrough for this and my MPA never went near my power in either 8 min interval.

Yesterday I did a TR workout called Kaweah which is 90 min long and has 5x10 min efforts just below threshold. I couldn’t complete it and had to bail in the 4th effort, however again my MPA did not go near my power.

Today’s breakthrough ride was a ride with a friend for a couple of hours up quite a few climbs, I put in quite a few big efforts and felt good most of the day. The ride is broken into two parts as we stopped for a beer on the way home. The breakthroughs are in the first one. After the ride my Garmin told me my new FTP was 215, TrainingPeaks told me it was now 209, and on Xert it increased to 230, the day after I failed to complete a TR workout with my FTP set at 203 and me form well into the red.