How well does %FTP work for you?

https://www.xertonline.com/workout/wxae9iuo4lnnx4x2

This workout will help you see whether your %FTP based intervals are well suited. If your MPA is higher on the second %FTP-based set, %FTP workouts will be too easy. If your MPA is lower on the second %FTP-based set, they will be harder.

If you have a signature of 1000W/20kj/250W both sets will be the same. The percentages are based on this “average” signature.

2 Likes

I’m not sure what to make from this (I’m still learning the intricacies of Xert)
Should we be striving to have both sets be equal?
I opened the workout and it had my MPA lower on the second %FTP based set, so my workouts will be harder.
I want to improve so I expect (wrongly?) that my workouts would be harder.
I also know I’m well below the average signature.
If you could expand on what this means and how I (we) should react to it would be much appreciated.

Hey Albert,

This isn’t a way to evaluate your fitness but is a way to understand what happens when you follow a workout from any system that uses %FTP as the target for the intervals. A generically defined workout that uses %FTP, needs to base the targets on some average athlete. What this shows is that if you’re the average athlete, both first and second interval sets would have the same MPA profile. However, if your signature is a bit different (perhaps you’re more of a sprinter with larger PP and HIE vs. TP or an diesel engine with a big TP and smaller PP and HIE) then the second interval set will be different for you.

Using %FTP as interval targets are well-suited if this workout has 2 equal profiles. If not, you might be training too easy (MPA is higher in the second) or too hard (MPA is lower in the second) than what you should be doing for effective training.

1 Like

:+1:
Thank you
I’m slowly getting theree

So %FTP-based intervals would be too easy for me?

The difference seems pretty significant. Is it? What does it say about my profile?