Goals and settings for Cyclocross

I’m fairly new to Xert and the Cyclocross season is already in full swing. At the moment I have my goals and setting set to continuous, athlete type set to Puncheur and improvement rate set to moderate 2.

However, I’m not sure that is a good setting.

After a race on Sunday, the planner says I’m tired which is correct but I don’t become fresh for harder work until Friday.

I like to do a very hard CX 2 hour practice session Tuesday or Wednesday evening after which Xert will recommend more endurance work going into the weekend.

I tried putting the Sunday race as a goal and improvement rate to taper but think Xert needs more time to make that work properly.

I just wondered what other CX racers or XC racers use as their goals and settings when in-season.

Or should I just ignore it and do my own thing.

Thanks

David J

I believe recent episodes of the Fast Talk Labs Podcast have addressed training for Cyclocross. Might be worth checking those out.

TED is for triggering a phased progression over time as you surmised, so it wouldn’t be useful for an event a week away. You could set a TED to place you in particular phase though such as mid-Build (50 days from now) or beginning of Peak (30 days from now).

Taper would be used to scale back your TL after a period of training or prior to an event a week or so away.
Sounds like you want to jack things up quickly so Aggressive or even Extreme could be used for a short block. IR affects both hours and intensity.

You can alternately use the Freshness Feedback slider to nudge your recovery form in one direction or another. In this case slide to the right say 10 pts (fresher) and watch what happens to the recommendations and form predictions on the Planner.

Don’t hesitate to experiment with the settings. You can always change things back depending on how well you respond to the differences in TL.