Article comments: How To Use Heart Rate Variability As Your Training Guide

Hi Scott nice to see you presenting your info in the Pez Tool Box. One small item of question then the big question. In the article you have the words “our autonomous nervous system” it has been a while since I studied biology and physiology but isn’t it the autonomic nervous system?

Now for the real question that has been bouncing around my head lately and came to a point last evening. The HRV is fine in that it takes into account the stresses etc up until the time you take your HRV. However not everyone does their workout right after they take their HRV and it is not advised to take it during the day from mu limited knowledge and having tried to use HRV to get meaningful data. I find if during my work day if it is psychologically stressful that when I get home to do my evening workout the workout is just harder. Firstly motivation is lower, then I am certain that my nervous system is tired and non responsive. So when I do a workout that would typically cause a breakthrough it may get a near breakthrough but I just don’t seem to be able to push through that last little bit needed for the breakthrough to happen. If it has been a fairly relaxed day nothing unusual I am more motivated and I believe my nervous system is less tired/ more relaxed and this more responsive.

My issue with HRV is that when I get up in the morning I may be tip top ready to go but the next morning (after the terrible day and hard workout) I am now in the fatigue situation and HRV may show that effect but a bit too late for it to be effective when I needed it the evening before

I have not seen much research into this area but would be very interested in getting some feedback on what is out there in the area a decent research into this area and issue and if others as well notice similar things.

1 Like