Android App & Computrainer

Is it as simple as having a micro USB dongle and then attaching the USB-FTDI-Computrainer cable?

Yup. And then configure it in the SCAN tab. You’ll likely get prompted for permissions to use the USB interface. Once configured, check that the lights are on when you start the activity. We’ve seen on occasion that you need to EXIT the app and reopen again before this happens.

We’re addressing an issue at the moment with trainer control. Let us know if you’re experiencing any problems as we’re in the middle of testing a fix for this.

Thanks for the quick reply. I will let you know how it goes

Armando - I’m new to Xert so may be not seeing some setup/configuration features, but do not see or get the Scan option on the Record screen of the Android mobile app when I plug in my Computrainer (or get the USB permissions prompt).

The light on the Computrainer USB-FTDI cable light up (just like they would if I was plugging it into a laptop). The Sensors screen on the app just shows my bluetooth heart rate sensor.

I should mention that I only have a Xert Trial membership currently.

I’m using a Samsung Note 8 phone with an updated OS. Does USB Debugging need to be on?

Any ideas?

I use another work around for my computrainer that has worked well at least until I stopped training indoors last spring, so have not tried since then but you can get an inexpensive app, CT Bridge from Perf Pro. This will allow your computer to use a separate Ant+ stick to broadcast the Computrainer as an Ant+ FEC unit and you can scan for that with the Samsung Android using the built in Ant+ receiver. It might also have something to do with the trial membership I am not certain on that level but the CT bridge app has worked well for any program that will control an Ant+ FEC unit.

Thanks for the info on Perf Pro.